Universities use two methods to make offers to students. The original system concentrates on A-levels and Highers, and sis till the basis of offers made by most older universities. Applicants are required to gain a configuration of A-level or Higher grades, often subject specific.

 The A-level grades are awarded points (A:10, B:8, C:6, D:4, E:2) for the purpose of calculating mean entry scores in our profiles. Highers are scored differently  (A:6, B:4, C:2). A new tariff system was introduced by UCAS last year to recognise vocational and all other post-16 qualifications as well. Offers using the system, which has been adopted by many new universities, are made in points. The scoring system for key elements of this is shown below. Full details can be found at .

240 points: vocational A-level, double award, grade A (advanced GNVQ).

200 points: vocational A-level, double award, grade B.

160 points: vocational A-level, double award, grade C.

120 points:  vocational A-level, double award, grade D: A-level, grade A; Scottish Advanced Higher, grade A.

100 points: A-level, grade B; Advanced Higher, grade B.

80 points: A-level, grade C; vocational A-level, double award, grade E; Advanced Higher, grade C.

72 points: Higher, grade A.

60 points: AS-level, grade A; A-level, grade D; Higher, grade B.

50 points: AS level, grade B.

48 points: Higher, grade C.

42 points: Scottish Intermediate, grade A.

40 points: AS-level, grade C; A-level, grade E.

38 points: Scottish Standard Grade, band 1.

35 points: Intermediate, grade B.

30 points: AS-level, grade D, Key skills, level 4.

28 points: Intermediate, grade C; Standard Grade Credit, band 2.

20 points: AS-level, grade E: Key skills, level 3, grade A; Free-standing single unit, grade A (optional module for students studying advanced mathematics and vocational A-levels).


Tariff Calculator.